Poetry Failure #2

Again, some more bad poetry:

___________________________________________________________________________

Snow falls and the landscape transforms

This city street is now an oasis of serenity

My eyes are transfixed on nature’s beauty

I should really get back to putting out this house fire. Back to the screams.

__________________________________________________________________________

Why are we here? What’s the purpose of life?

What happens when I die? Is there a heaven?

I guess there could be, so I better untie this family.

__________________________________________________________________________

I feel that I am here

I know that I am here, part of the universe.

But if no one else notices, do I truly exist?

Wait, that guy is waving at me.

“Hello!!! ” , my voice rings out, asserting my place in reality.

Nope, he was waving at someone else. Awkward.

They’re staring.

Time to leave Jimmy John’s.

___________________________________________________________________________

She looks so sad.

I don’t know what to say.

I’m worried about her.

She just can’t seem to smile since the funeral.

She sits on the couch and cries.

She lifts her head and looks at me.

Oh crap, she sees me! Sees me hiding in the bushes!

She’s screaming.

She seems so upset.

I want to hug her,

But I think it’s best if I just pull up my pants and leave.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by gary Simmons on June 23, 2011 - 2:18 pm

    I am setting here laughing my butt off. I needed a good one to because I feel about like the guy in the bushes.

    gary

  2. #2 by Brown Road Chronicles on June 23, 2011 - 3:33 pm

    Funny!! I like the first one… we’re you making Flakes au Maize avec Sucre again?

  3. #3 by betweenthemusic on June 23, 2011 - 4:03 pm

    Funny stuff.. 🙂

  4. #4 by lipstickandlegislature on June 24, 2011 - 4:22 am

    Hahahaha love it. You, sir, are a visionary, and have just secured the dubious honor of a place on my blogroll.

    • #5 by brainforthought on June 24, 2011 - 9:00 am

      Thank you very much, lipstick. If I didn’t take dubious honors, then I wouldn’t have any honors at all. Same for compliments, recognition and relationships.

  5. #6 by Kay aka Babygirl on June 28, 2011 - 3:12 pm

    I think poetry is open to all types of interpretation.. so what you think is a failure may not necessarily be one. This reminded me of a piece that could turn into a short story.

  6. #7 by pienbiscuits on June 28, 2011 - 5:10 pm

    I’m not into poetry because I think most of what’s out there is mawkish, but your sterling efforts here made me laugh out loud. They really are… err… poetic.

Leave a Reply

